Nebraska Hall of Fame: Nebraska Medal of Honor Recipients

In 1969, the Nebraska State Legislature amended the Nebraska Hall of Fame statutes “to provide that Nebraskans awarded the Medal of Honor shall be named to the Hall of Fame” and required that the Hall of Fame Commission procure a plaque with the names of the Medal of Honor recipients. On May 5, 1974, the State of Nebraska officially inducted 57 Nebraska Medal of Honor recipients to the Nebraska Hall of Fame. The commission placed a bronze plaque by J.H. Matthews on the southwest pilaster of the Great Hall of the Nebraska State Capitol.

On November 11, 2013, the State of Nebraska unveiled a new, updated bronze plaque with the names of 72 Nebraska Medal of Honor recipients. The Nebraska Office of the Capitol Commission placed the new plaque in Memorial Chamber—the fourteenth floor of the capitol.

Department of Roads – Medal of Honor Hwy 20 Signs Project

Department of Roads – Medal of Honor Hwy 20 Signs Project

December 13 @ 8:30 am – 10:00 am

The meeting is on December 13, 2019 in Lincoln, NE at 8:30 AM in the Department of Roads (NDoR) building on 1500 HWY 2, across from the State Penitentiary

Attend the meeting on December 13th.  Wear your Veterans hat.  Load your car with fellow vets and make it a day you’ll always remember. Support the Heroes of Heroes, our Nebraska Medal of Honor Recipients. 

We need to overwhelm the Commissioners with Nebraska Veterans support.   There are two other entities attempting to have other highways renamed and the Commissioners are only allowed to accept one per year.